South Africa is one of the original signatories to the Antarctic Treaty System and the South African National Antarctic Program (SANAP) assists in fulfilling South Africas role in continuing with important scientific research in Antarctic and the sub-Antarctic. SANAP is supported by the Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA), who provide the logistical support, and the National Research Foundation (NRF), who are in charge of grant approval and scientific research functions. More information on SANAP can be found at their website here.


Copyright © APECS South Africa. All Rights Reserved.